CaliforniaSpecial.com -- Message Boards -- 1968 California Special Limited Edition Ford Mustang GT/CS
D I S C U S S I O N . F O R U M
COMMUNITY
1968 GT/CS & HCS
2007+ GT/CS
1966-1967 HCS

Vote!

Old 05/03/2018, 07:38 AM   #1
hatchdog

20-50w oil?

Iím getting ready to do my spring oil change and am considering changing the oil weight. Somewhere in these great pages of info I read a post from Rob (RobertCampbell) where he suggested using a 20-50w oil. Robís reasoning was that since our cars are not daily drivers and generally when we drive them itís for a lengthy drive using 10-30w was not necessary. Also the heavier oil helps keep pressure up.

I am unable to find the post I originally read and would like to confirm this info before I buy some oil. I plan to use Valvoline racing oil with zinc in either weight.

Thanks,
Mike
hatchdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/03/2018, 08:14 AM   #2
limelyt

Mike

I've been using 5w-30 in the Calspec for the last 13 years and normally put 1200 miles a season and have had no issues. I guess it depends on how tight the engine it.

Gary (LIMELYT)
limelyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/03/2018, 09:10 AM   #3
robert campbell
My Car Details

My Garage
Mike,
Oil types and brands will generate about a much discussion as the election of a president for our country!

You are correct in what I said. Our cars are now toys and not subjected to the rigors of daily driving in cold weather. In my experience with older engines with miles on them, is that they run higher oil pressure with a 20/50 oil as opposed to 10/30 or 10/40 that was the norm back in the day. And the extra viscosity is a bit better on small oil leaks that develop over the years. I also have always used Castrol in my engines. But that is me. Newly rebuilt motors leak less and have higher oil pressure and will work just fine on the 10/30 or 10/40 blend.

I totally recommend a zinc additive for flat tappet cams.

https://zddplus.com/