• Welcome to the CaliforniaSpecial.com forums! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all our site features, please take a moment to join our community! It's fast, simple and absolutely free.

If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Please Note: If you are an existing member and your password no longer works, click here to reset it.

Wanted to buy a CS - NEED ADVICE (posted pics)

Lawrence

I have been looking for a California Special and found one, but being a newbie I need your advice.

According to the Marti report it is a:
289-2v, 3-speed manual, Royal Maroon, Black Standard Buckets, 2.79 axle ratio, CS option, San Jose built. So that is a good start.

From the pictures the car looks really good inside, outside, engine (but they can be deceiving). I spoke with the owner and he said it has no rust whatsoever, just had a fresh paint job (Maroon), new glass and seals all around, trim has been restored, new interior, engine dress up kit, and some aftermarket wheels

First, the owner is asking $20K which seems a bit high to me, but he claims everything has been done to it. Engine and tranny have about 20K miles, only thing I would have to do is A/C (I figure about $1K), but then he said he has a complete original A/C system from another 68.

Second, I want to make sure it is a true CS and not a clone. I know the Marti report says it was a CS, but then you can always get new replacement tags. I read the writeup on this site, but what should I watch for that would be a dead giveaway? BTW, the rear valance around the lights is silver and not color coded to the rest of the car, is this normal?

I plan on hitting the road early Sat to look at it and any help would be appreciated so I know what I am looking at.

Thanks

Mosesatm

Re:Wanted to buy a CS - NEED ADVICE

If all the VIN plates show the same numbers it's probably real. Listed below are the things I normally look for.