• Welcome to the CaliforniaSpecial.com forums! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all our site features, please take a moment to join our community! It's fast, simple and absolutely free.

If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Please Note: If you are an existing member and your password no longer works, click here to reset it.

1968 Looks like Engine rebuild

Sarge

Hey all, my restoration on my Cal Special is on a little hold while the Engine is getting rebuilt. Upon removal of valve covers, they found some dark marks on the valves and valve and spring issues (I'm not technical, so don't ask too much) and wanted to send it out to have the valves, seals and guides replaced. They want to do the hardened seals since they are at it.

Upon further inspection, it appears that the piston skirts are cracked and "broken off" on 6 of the 8 pistons, so he is telling me I should do a rebuild since the engine is out of the car. Car has 146k miles on it, never rebuilt. New pistons, rings, camshaft, not sure what else, will learn more tomorrow when I drive up there.

I am not made of money, but it would make sense to take care of as much as I can afford while the engine is out of the body. Question is: What components would be a good fit? My car is a 302, with Edelbrock 600 CFM carb, Weiand 8011 intake manifold, MSD disti and ignition. C4 Auto Trans, with 3.00 gears (if they are stock, could not swear to it).

I am not looking to make a ton of HP over what is stock, but I have no idea what cam, duration, lift, etc, piston type, valve type etc, etc, etc. Any ideas what would work well with what I have? I am really at the mercy of the engine shop, as I don't know what works with what. I know I haven't given enough info, and what I would probably hear back is "stock", but not sure.

Thanks for listening,
Robert

dalorzo_f