CaliforniaSpecial.com -- Message Boards -- 1968 California Special Limited Edition Ford Mustang GT/CS
D I S C U S S I O N . F O R U M
COMMUNITY
1968 GT/CS & HCS
2007+ GT/CS
1966-1967 HCS

Vote!

Old 04/09/2007, 10:08 AM   #1
BroadwayBlue
My Car Details
 
BroadwayBlue's Avatar
 

Location: Hudson Valley Area, NY
Joined: Apr 05
Posts: 2,878

Send a message via AIM to BroadwayBlue
Site Problems with Vista and Internet Explorer 7.0

Is anyone having problems accessing the site with Windows Vista or Internet Explorer 7?

I got a new laptop and I'm having trouble getting to the site. Just this one for the most part.

The site comes up and usually just the header at the top is there. Then after a looooooong time the rest of the site comes up. Then I go to the forums and the same things happens. It's killing me.

I thought it was the Phishing Filter that was added to check on sites that are "phishing" for your info ... like those fake bank, paypal, ebay sites,etc...
So I turned that auto-filtering off but it still happens.

I see the little icon at the bottom of the screen that says the phishing filter is checking the site but like I said even with it off it's happening.

Then every thread I go into does the same thing.

I added the site to my "Trusted Sites" again no luck.

What am I missing?
Is anyone else running into this?

Rich

1968 Acapulco Blue GT/CS 289 * 1996 Red GT Convertible *
BroadwayBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/09/2007, 07:55 PM   #2
BroadwayBlue
My Car Details
 
BroadwayBlue's Avatar
 

Location: Hudson Valley Area, NY
Joined: Apr 05
Posts: 2,878

Send a message via AIM to BroadwayBlue
Good News and Bad News

Good News (if you want to call it that): I searched online and it's not that uncommon a problem with IE 7 and Vista

Bad News: no one knows how to fix it!

Rich

1968 Acapulco Blue GT/CS 289 * 1996 Red GT Convertible *
BroadwayBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/14/2007, 04:36 PM   #3
admin
Administrator
My Car Details
 
admin's Avatar
 
Just your friendly neighborhood webmaster...

Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: Aug 02
Posts: 1,748

My Garage
Rich,

Can you point me to some of those links where you found others with the same problem? You're the first to complain about it on this site, but a few others are having a similar problem with one of my other forums also.

One of the theories on that forum was the eBay links on the left were part of the problem. Does it only happen on the forums here, or on other pages of the site also? (ie. home page, history, etc.)

admin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/14/2007, 04:44 PM   #4
admin
Administrator
My Car Details
 
admin's Avatar
 
Just your friendly neighborhood webmaster...

Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: Aug 02
Posts: 1,748

My Garage
Did a bit of searching...Is it a Dell laptop? Does it have McAfee pre-loaded? Seems McAfee comes with it's own phishing filter which conflicts w/ the IE7 filter. Of course I'm sure that's just one of a zillion possible combinations of conflicts that aren't quite worked out yet, but I thought I would ask.

admin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/14/2007, 05:18 PM   #5
Mosesatm
 
Mosesatm's Avatar
 

Location: Spokane, Washington
Joined: Jan 05
Posts: 7,351

I have a new Dell with McAfee. Sometimes the site works fine and other times I need to click on links twice for it to connect. The second click pulls it right up.
Mosesatm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/16/2007, 05:14 PM   #6
BroadwayBlue
My Car Details
 
BroadwayBlue's Avatar
 

Location: Hudson Valley Area, NY
Joined: Apr 05
Posts: 2,878

Send a message via AIM to BroadwayBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by admin View Post
Did a bit of searching...Is it a Dell laptop? Does it have McAfee pre-loaded? Seems McAfee comes with it's own phishing filter which conflicts w/ the IE7 filter. Of course I'm sure that's just one of a zillion possible combinations of conflicts that aren't quite worked out yet, but I thought I would ask.
Hi Jon,
As a matter of fact it is that exact config. I'm not on that PC right now. Too slow to go through the postings with it right now.

I'll check on the McAfee settings and I'll get you those other links too. Thanks!

Rich

1968 Acapulco Blue GT/CS 289 * 1996 Red GT Convertible *
BroadwayBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/16/2007, 09:20 PM   #7
BroadwayBlue
My Car Details
 
BroadwayBlue's Avatar
 

Location: Hudson Valley Area, NY
Joined: Apr 05
Posts: 2,878

Send a message via AIM to BroadwayBlue
Wow this is painful.
It's odd because it appears as though the page loads in 1-2 seconds. But then it just sits with the upper header (white c/s and ads) loaded but everything blank. Literally 2:30 minutes later the page shows up (I timed it).

The home page loads fine but once I hit the forums I'm done.

I do see some info online about disable the McAfee phishing filter but that didn't seem to help. Every page takes 2-3 minutes to display.

I did see some info about sites using a scaling factor of 8 that will have problems. It also seems it's not Dell specific.

I'll keep poking around but here are some links...

http://www.google.com/search?q=websi...e7&rlz=1I7DKUS

ok ... time to go for a walk after hitting submit

Rich

1968 Acapulco Blue GT/CS 289 * 1996 Red GT Convertible *
BroadwayBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/16/2007, 09:34 PM   #8
BroadwayBlue
My Car Details
 
BroadwayBlue's Avatar
 

Location: Hudson Valley Area, NY
Joined: Apr 05
Posts: 2,878

Send a message via AIM to BroadwayBlue
Looks like I found a fix!!!! Finally!!!

I'm flying now!!!
I found this fix on the microsoft site. It's also referenced on some of the other sites as well.

This did the trick - I went back to having both the IE and McAfee phishing filter on and that did the trick.

Here is the info for future reference:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929868#appliesto

CAUSE

By default, Windows Vista Enterprise fully supports RFC 1323 and supports a Windows Scaling factor of 8. This issue occurs when a Web site does not fully support RFC 1323 or when a Web site does not support the default scaling factor.

WORKAROUND

To work around this issue, change the Windows Scaling factor to 2. To change the Windows Scaling factor to 2, follow these steps: 1.Click Start, click All Programs, and then click Accessories.2.Right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator.3.At the prompt in the Administrator: Command Prompt window, type the following command, and then press ENTER: netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel=highlyrestricted


MORE INFORMATION

For more information about RFC standards and Windows Scaling, visit the following Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN) Web sites:

Windows TCP implementation features: http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/randz/protocol/windows_tcp_implementation_features.asp (http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...n_features.asp)
Win32 and COM Development: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms741621.aspx (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms741621.aspx)
For more information about RFC 1323, visit the following Internet Engineering Task Force Web site: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=6746 (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=6746)


APPLIES TO

•Windows Vista Enterprise•Windows Vista Business•Windows Vista Home Basic•Windows Vista Home Premium•Windows Vista Starter•Windows Vista Ultimate

Keywords:

kbexpertiseinter kbtshoot kbprb KB929868

Rich

1968 Acapulco Blue GT/CS 289 * 1996 Red GT Convertible *
BroadwayBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/16/2007, 09:47 PM   #9
admin
Administrator
My Car Details
 
admin's Avatar
 
Just your friendly neighborhood webmaster...

Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: Aug 02
Posts: 1,748

My Garage
Glad you got it working and thanks for the info. That would suggest I need to update something in my HTML code to compensate for this new setting in Vista. What it is I have no idea, but will look into it.

admin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/16/2007, 09:55 PM   #10
BroadwayBlue
My Car Details
 
BroadwayBlue's Avatar
 

Location: Hudson Valley Area, NY
Joined: Apr 05
Posts: 2,878

Send a message via AIM to BroadwayBlue
Anytime ... if you find the setting and you want me to test it let me know. I'll set my setting back to "normal"

But let me know ahead of time so I can make sure I can break it before testing your fix. This way we'll know your fix really worked. (I know the IT guy in my coming out)

Rich

1968 Acapulco Blue GT/CS 289 * 1996 Red GT Convertible *
BroadwayBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  CaliforniaSpecial.com Forums > Misc Forums > Test and Help Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.


This site created, owned and maintained by Jon Hanna - Copyright 1996-2011
All rights reserved. CaliforniaSpecial.com is not affiliated with Ford Motor Company

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.