CaliforniaSpecial.com -- Message Boards -- 1968 California Special Limited Edition Ford Mustang GT/CS
D I S C U S S I O N . F O R U M
COMMUNITY
1968 GT/CS & HCS
2007+ GT/CS
1966-1967 HCS

Vote!

Old 01/18/2018, 06:02 PM   #1
franklinair
My Car Details
 
franklinair's Avatar
 

Location: Franklin, NC
Joined: Mar 07
Posts: 4,147

My Garage
Air/Heat actuators

For those that have '67/'68 Factory in-dash A/C:
The pneumatic (vacuum) actuators that control the airflow throughout the 'in-dash' plenum & vents have a tendency to fail (after 50 years) due to the leaking internal diaphragm. There are 4 of them- all identical.
You can still get Ford replacement units for these that are a direct fit.
Google part number YH-161 and you'll find them online. (About $50)
Hope this helps anyone having a misbehaving A/C-Heat system.

Neil
franklinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/20/2018, 12:47 PM   #2
1968Cally
 
1968Cally's Avatar
 

Location: Chicago NW Suburbs
Joined: Nov 17
Posts: 135

My Garage
Thanks. Amazon has them for $43.78 but only three left but "more on the way" I wonder if I should replace them while I have the dash apart?

What about the vacuum switch on the heat/AC control that the four vacuum hoses plug on to? Are these fairly reliable?
1968Cally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/20/2018, 02:05 PM   #3
franklinair
My Car Details
 
franklinair's Avatar
 

Location: Franklin, NC
Joined: Mar 07
Posts: 4,147

My Garage
I've never experienced a problem with the selector.
Two of the vacuum units are only accessible when the instrument cluster is removed. Even then, its a PITA. (I also remove the ash tray assembly for additional access.)
If you've already got the dash opened up, its an ideal time to replace the actuators. (After 50 years the diaphragms get brittle and leak.)
The new units come with a looong/universal rod. I discard those and use the original/existing rod which is already the correct length. Its secured by a single Philips head screw.

Neil
franklinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/20/2018, 05:08 PM   #4
1968Cally
 
1968Cally's Avatar
 

Location: Chicago NW Suburbs
Joined: Nov 17
Posts: 135

My Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by franklinair View Post
I've never experienced a problem with the selector.
Two of the vacuum units are only accessible when the instrument cluster is removed. Even then, its a PITA. (I also remove the ash tray assembly for additional access.)
If you've already got the dash opened up, its an ideal time to replace the actuators. (After 50 years the diaphragms get brittle and leak.)
The new units come with a looong/universal rod. I discard those and use the original/existing rod which is already the correct length. Its secured by a single Philips head screw.

Neil
Super. More ways to spend money!
1968Cally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/21/2018, 12:39 PM   #5
1968Cally
 
1968Cally's Avatar
 

Location: Chicago NW Suburbs
Joined: Nov 17
Posts: 135

My Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by franklinair View Post
I've never experienced a problem with the selector.
Two of the vacuum units are only accessible when the instrument cluster is removed. Even then, its a PITA. (I also remove the ash tray assembly for additional access.)
If you've already got the dash opened up, its an ideal time to replace the actuators. (After 50 years the diaphragms get brittle and leak.)
The new units come with a looong/universal rod. I discard those and use the original/existing rod which is already the correct length. Its secured by a single Philips head screw.

Neil
So, if I am going to replace the actuators, I guess that I will also replace the vacuum hose as they do not fit very snugly on the heater control or the actuators. DO you know what inside diameter I should get?
1968Cally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/21/2018, 01:28 PM   #6
Mosesatm
 
Mosesatm's Avatar
 

Location: Spokane, Washington
Joined: Jan 05
Posts: 7,814

Here are some diagrams.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	V4.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	141.9 KB
ID:	21975   Click image for larger version

Name:	68 Vacuum 5.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	188.2 KB
ID:	21976   Click image for larger version

Name:	68 Vacuum 6.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	161.6 KB
ID:	21977  


This getting older ain't for cowards. - John Mellencamp
Mosesatm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/21/2018, 01:46 PM   #7
franklinair
My Car Details
 
franklinair's Avatar
 

Location: Franklin, NC
Joined: Mar 07
Posts: 4,147

My Garage
You can buy a new complete set of vacuum hoses, color coded. Worthwhile doing.
NPD P/N 19A581-2A, $32.67

Neil
franklinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/21/2018, 06:19 PM   #8
1968Cally
 
1968Cally's Avatar
 

Location: Chicago NW Suburbs
Joined: Nov 17
Posts: 135

My Garage
Thank you gents
1968Cally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/22/2018, 08:54 PM   #9
1968Cally
 
1968Cally's Avatar
 

Location: Chicago NW Suburbs
Joined: Nov 17
Posts: 135

My Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by franklinair View Post
You can buy a new complete set of vacuum hoses, color coded. Worthwhile doing.
NPD P/N 19A581-2A, $32.67

Neil
Wound up getting the four vacuum actuators at Rock Auto - 38.99 apiece.

Also ordered the vacuum line set today
1968Cally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2018, 07:44 AM   #10
1968Cally
 
1968Cally's Avatar
 

Location: Chicago NW Suburbs
Joined: Nov 17
Posts: 135

My Garage
So, the one easy to get to on the right side heater box was a bit sluggish when I tested it but was working using a vacuum line from my daily driver. Put the new one in and it works very well.

Interestingly, the vacuum line set was out of stock at NPD last weekend. All of a sudden it was available again later in the week and it is now only $14.50. Same part number - Scott drake color coded. Not sure why the price is less than half of what it was.
1968Cally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/03/2018, 05:24 PM   #11
1968Cally
 
1968Cally's Avatar
 

Location: Chicago NW Suburbs
Joined: Nov 17
Posts: 135

My Garage
So I put in the other three vacuum actuators today. The two behind the ashtray were tougher than the ones on the passenger side but not too bad. Tested them and they are all good. Actually, the old ones seemed to be working okay. I have the cluster, ashtray, console and radio out so there was plenty of access (sort of). I did not go in through the cluster but used that to place the trouble light.

I will replace the vacuum lines, hopefully tomorrow. I did notice the the lines on the actuators were noy very snug at all. Glad I got the new vacuum line set.
1968Cally is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  CaliforniaSpecial.com Forums > GT/CS and HCS Forums > GT/CS and HCS Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.


This site created, owned and maintained by Jon Hanna - Copyright 1996-2011
All rights reserved. CaliforniaSpecial.com is not affiliated with Ford Motor Company

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.