CaliforniaSpecial.com -- Message Boards -- 1968 California Special Limited Edition Ford Mustang GT/CS
D I S C U S S I O N . F O R U M
COMMUNITY
1968 GT/CS & HCS
2007+ GT/CS
1966-1967 HCS

Vote!

Old 10/07/2007, 07:49 PM   #1
Michael Carlson

How do you identify 302 California Special heads from normal 302 heads

I have a question, I hope someone can help me with. I recently purchased a set of 1968 ford 302 heads and matching 4 barrel intake and carb. Supposedly the heads are gone thru and ready to bolt on. I purchased the heads because they have a pipe plug port above the exhaust port and a tube running down to the valve. The gentlemen that I purchased them from said that they are off a 1968 California Special Mustang. I purchased a 71 Maverick Grabber from him which was stored for 23 years, and I purchased all of his ford parts.
I am no expert on this subject and look forward to a reply. I have no use for these heads, I mean I could use them, but I'm sure someone restoring a 68 California Mustang could put them to better use.
thank you,
Michael Carlson
Michael Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/07/2007, 10:20 PM   #2
joedls
My Car Details

eBay: 65-4-me

There was no special engine for a GT/CS. If it had a 302 from the factory, it was just like all the other 302s put into Mustangs.

Joe

HP numbers are good and all, but they're like asking someone how much they can bench. What difference does it make, if I can still kick your ass.
joedls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/07/2007, 11:09 PM   #3
Mustanglvr
My Car Details

Former GT/CS owner :(

Send a message via Yahoo to Mustanglvr
My Garage
Would`nt they have correct date codes on them or is that only on the block?

RHONDA
GT/CS FOREVER!
Mustanglvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/08/2007, 05:16 AM   #4
Mosesatm

Those sound like heads for a manual transmission car with smog equipment.
Mosesatm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/08/2007, 05:41 AM   #5
Michael Carlson